top of page
Spunicunifait "The Name"
Play Video

Spunicunifait "The Name" 

Lorenza Borrani, Violin  | Maia Cabeza, Violin 

Simone von Rahden, Viola | Max Mandel, Viola 

Luise Buchberger, Cello

Five of Europe’s leading string players came together to form Spunicunifait, a group dedicated to the study and performance of the six string quintets of W.A. Mozart. In a desire to delve deeply into this repertoire usually performed by a string quartet plus an extra viola, these five friends combine historical performance practice on period instruments with an obsession for Mozart. Occasionally overwhelmed by his genius, they have named themselves after a made-up word by Mozart (the meaning of which remains a mystery), to remember that this towering giant of classical music could also be a very, very, very silly man. Spunicunifait brings together a vast collective experience as chamber musicians, orchestral players, teachers, directors and soloists from such ensembles as The Chamber Orchestra of Europe, The Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment, Spira Mirabilis and Aurora Orchestra amongst others. Although they each lead full and varied musical lives, the members of Spunicunifait decided to prioritize this repertoire because they are eager to re-establish Mozart’s string quintets’ place amongst the highest achievements of the chamber music canon. No doubt they will explore the larger world of string quintets, but for now these pieces are serving as an endless source of inspiration for discussion, performance and enjoying each other’s company.